HOME



INTRODUCTION TO HONG KONG APPAREL MACHINERY INDUSTRY

Overview

  • The HK Garment industry was most prosperous between 70s-90s. The sewing machine and apparel machinery industry also expanded hand in hand. At its peak, up to 1/3 of the world’s production of cutting, sewing, accessories, parts and finishing machines were traded in and out of the free port of Hong Kong. At that time, the HK market was dominated by Japanese, European and American machinery manufacturers. Now, there are about 150 HK companies involved in the apparel machinery manufacturing/ wholesale/ retail/ service business.

 

  • In the past, most of the equipment were produced in Germany, Italy, USA, Japan, etc. Then re-exported to other Asian countries. When China opened its door, many HK and world machinery manufacturers followed. Many HK local companies also moved their business into China. Now HK can export the most advanced garment equipment to the rest of the world.

 

  • HK Companies with their world wide vision started introducing overseas know how for many years. The garment production process has also vastly improved in both theory and practice. The number of young people in our garment industry ranks amongst the highest in all industry sectors.

 

Business Model

  • The HK apparel, sewing, CAD/CAM, finishing companies have introduced many innovating machinery and process to local garment manufacturer. The specialty of local apparel machinery companies are to customize and improve the most popular machinery for our local factories. Our industry is also actively participating in many world class exhibitions such as DTC and CISMA. We also organize regular trade meeting to bridge China with many overseas countries.

 

Market Trend

  • The HK Apparel Machinery companies have recognized two most important trend: oil-less and automation. For garment manufacturing, we have improved from mass production line to small production unit. The local garment industry must adapted to the ever increasing labour and energy cost. Some examples are: multi machines for operators, energy saving motor and equipment, computer aided sewing, robots, multipurpose machines.

首頁



香港縫製設備 (衣車) 工業簡介

概覽

  • 70至90年代是香港製衣業最蓬勃的時期,同時帶動了衣車及縫紉設備行業的發展及擴充。在頂峰的時期,世界上三分一產量的製衣設備,包括裁剪、衣車、配件、零件及整燙設備皆是經香港這個自由港轉口至世界各地。就在當時,香港的市場被日本、歐洲,以及美國的機械設備生產所主導。直到目前為止,在香港從事縫紉設備製造、批發、零售或維修的商家仍超過150間。
  • 過去,製衣設備大部分由德國、意大利、美國、日本等工業國家生產,之後再經香港轉口至其他亞洲國家。隨著中國改革開放、不少香港,以及世界各地的機械設備生產商緊隨其步伐。很多香港本地商家把業務北移至中國大陸。如今,香港具備能力,將世界上最先進的成衣設備出口至世界各地。

 

  • 在多年來,具有世界視野的香港商家不斷引入海外的先進技術,從而令到製衣業的生產流程,無論在理論及實踐都有莫大進步。在香港眾多的工業範疇中,投身製衣業的年輕人人數最多。

 

經營銷售方式

  • 香港的成衣、縫紉、電腦輔助設計及生產,以及整燙商家一直引進不少創新的設備及工序,供應本地的製衣業廠家。本地成衣設備商家的專長,正正是個性化以及改良最受歡迎的機械設備,供本地製衣廠使用。我們的製衣設備業界亦積極參與眾多的世界級展覽會,例如DTC以及CISMA。我們亦定期舉行貿易會議,為中國及眾多海外商家建立橋梁。

 

業界趨勢

  • 香港縫製設備行業知道將來發展方向是自動化和節能生產。對於服裝製造業,已經從大規模生產線改為小型生產單位,使本地服裝業適應不斷增加的勞動成本和能源成本開支。例如,一位操作員要操作多部機器、引入節能電機設備、電腦輔助縫紉機、多功能機器,機器人等設備。